Colorado Landlord Tenant Rental Laws & Rights for 2024 (2024)

Landlords and tenants have rights and responsibilities that they have to follow to keep a good leasing relationship. In the case of landlords, they have to provide a habitable property that follows both state and local laws. The Colorado landlord tenant laws vary slightly depending on the area, so every landlord must seek legal advice before drafting arental agreement documentfor their property.

In this article, you can learn more about the landlord-tenant laws in Colorado so that you know how they can affect your lease document. If you have any pending doubts, don't hesitate to contact anattorney or real estate property manager.

Landlord-Tenant Rental Laws Whitepaper

Get the quintessential guide to landlord-tenant laws on the go from DoorLoop’s “Landlord’s Guide” series.

Click here or on the banner above to download the whitepaper and get all our best tips (by the book).

Now, let’s dive in.

What is a Rental Agreement in Colorado?

Also known as "Lease Agreements," a rental agreement is a formal contract that a landlord creates for leasing their commercial or residential property in the Colorado state. This document serves as a legal tool that indicates the responsibilities and rights of all parties involved in the lease.

Colorado landlord-tenant law states that these agreements are needed for tenants who are planning to rent for 12 months or longer. However, most landlords draft lease agreements regardless of the duration of the term; this provides legal protection against any issues.

What Does a Lease Agreement In Colorado Include?

This may vary depending on the landlord and state laws, but generally, this is the information that most landlords must include in this document:

  • Contact information of all the parties involved in the lease (Landlord included).
  • Address and description of the leased property.
  • Lease duration.
  • Rent amount and due date.
  • Landlord and tenant responsibilities.
  • Miscellaneous clauses (Pet laws, smoking laws, etc.)

Is Colorado a Landlord or Tenant-Friendly State?

As of today, Colorado is considered a landlord-friendly state since there are few restrictions regarding evictions for late-payments and security deposits. On the other hand, Colorado is one of the few states that allow landlords to enter their propertywithout notice.

Rights & Responsibilities


According to housing laws in the state of Colorado, landlords must provide a habitable unit for every tenant. A landlord has to ensure that the utilities are in good condition before leasing their property; these utilities include running water, electrical wiring, heating systems, plumbing, fixtures, etc. This is stated in the "Warranty of Habitability" law.

On the other hand, landlord-tenant laws in Colorado require landlords to provide repairs in a reasonable amount of time to comply with the Warranty of Habitability laws. Colorado tenants have the right to send a written notice of repair when they consider it appropriate, and landlords have up to 24 hours to fix the issue.

A landlord has the right to collect rent, deduct damages from security deposits (if applicable), and seek legal help if the tenant breached the terms of the lease.


Tenant rights state that they may exercise their right to habitable housing whenever they consider it appropriate; this includes asking for utilities in good condition, getting repairs in a reasonable amount of time, and collecting their security deposit once they leave the premises.

Additionally, tenants must comply with the following requirements to keep agood relationshipwith their landlord:

  • Pay rent on time.
  • Keep the property free of trash or waste.
  • Keep the property safe and in good condition.
  • Provide any required repairs as long as they're minor.

Rental Laws

As stated by Colorado landlord-tenant laws, landlords are free to charge any amount of rent they consider appropriate for their unit since the state doesn't ask for any specific requirements.

Keep in mind that a Colorado tenant maywithhold rentif they consider that the unit is not habitable and/or contains a potential health hazard for them. Tenants might withhold rent under these conditions if they provided notice of these damages beforehand. In most cases, the notice should be with a minimum of 10 days and a maximum of one month.

Rent Control Law

There are no rent control regulations in Colorado, meaning that a landlord may be able to raise rent prices as much as they want without any problems. Additionally, they're not required to provide notice about rent increases.

Late Fee Law

According to the Colorado landlord-tenant law, a landlord cannot charge a late fee greater than $50. It is also important to note that late fees cannot be charged if not specified in the lease or rental agreement.

Grace Period Law

When it comes to paying rent in Colorado, some landlords may specify a grace period for unpaid rent. However, this is not a legal requirement in Colorado, so it's up to the landlord to decide if they want to include these clauses in their lease agreement.

Want to download your own lease agreement template?Visit DoorLoop's Forms Page for your very own Colorado lease agreement template.

Security Deposit Laws

While they're not a legal requirement in Colorado, most landlords tend to collect a security deposit in case ofany damages that exceed normal wear and tear. Normally, the security deposit should be equal to the value of one month's rent.

In case the tenant decides to terminate the lease and leave the property, the landlord must return the security deposit within 30 or 60 days. If there is a hazardous condition in the unit, landlords must return the security deposit in a maximum of three days.

A landlord may withhold part of a security deposit if the damages exceed normal wear and tear or if there are any pending utility bills or unpaid rent.

Evictions & Early Terminations

A landlord may choose to evict a tenant for several reasons that imply a rental agreement breach. The most common grounds for eviction are listed below:

  • Lease contract breach.
  • Criminal activity.
  • Withholding rent without cause.

In those cases, landlords must give at least a three-day eviction notice. An at-will tenant may receive an eviction notice in advance depending on the time they've lived on the rental unit. The minimum is a one-day notice for weekly leases, and the maximum is a 91-day notice for a tenant who has lived on the unit for more than a year.

Alternatively, a tenant in Colorado may terminate the lease early if one of the following required conditions are met:

  • Active military service.
  • Hazardous or uninhabitable rental unit.
  • Domestic violence.
  • Early termination clauses.

Read more aboutearly termination clauses and eviction laws.

See our full guide on the eviction process and laws for Colorado.

Other Important Lease Clauses

Housing Discrimination and Tenant Protection

The Fair Housing Act and the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies - Civil Rights Division offer protection for tenants who have been discriminated against for any reason. According to state laws in Colorado, a tenant can be considered discriminated against for any of the following:

  • Familial status
  • Marital status
  • National origin
  • Sexual orientation
  • Religion
  • Gender

Tenants can file adiscrimination lawsuitonline if they consider it appropriate.

Right to Entry for Landlords

There are no specific landlord-tenant laws in Colorado regarding a landlord's right to enter their rental; this means that a landlord is not required to give any notice to enter the rental. However, most landlords and tenants come to an agreement on any notification clauses to avoid issues in the future.

In most cases, a landlord may give the tenant one or two days' notice before entering the premises.

Small Court Laws in Colorado

A Colorado small claims court can hear disputes regarding rent and security deposits that total a maximum of $7,500. However, it doesn't hear eviction cases. Landlord-tenant agreements in Colorado usually have a three-year statute of limitations.

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure

According to this landlord-tenant law, the landlord must give the tenant any information regarding lead paint if his unit was built before 1978.


Colorado is highly flexible regarding landlord-tenant laws, allowing landlords to have a broader set of options to choose from for their lease documents. It's important that landlords are reasonable with their requirements and ensure that their tenants are compliant with them.

If you have any more doubts regarding these laws in Colorado, we suggest that you seeklegal advice.

P.S. Please check all current and updated laws. Apparently there is now a restriction on how much and when a landlord may charge late fees. One reader indicated that they may only charge $50 or 5% of monthly rent, and they may only charge it one time for each late month, but please verify this with your local attorney.


DoorLoop hosted this webinar with attorney Michael Larranaga from Larranaga Law to help answer many of your legal questions. Michael specializes in real estate law and evictions in Colorado and we covered:

  1. Landlord-tenant issues and laws
  2. Grounds to evict a tenant
  3. Eviction process
  4. Preventing delays or fines
  5. Hiring an Attorney vs DIY
  6. Post COVID legal changes

Feel free to learn more and watch this webinar for free.

Colorado Landlord Tenant Rental Laws & Rights for 2024 (2024)


What are the renters rights in Colorado 2024? ›

Every rental agreement between a landlord and tenant must include a statement in at least 12-point, bold-face type that states that every tenant is entitled to safe and healthy housing under Colorado's warranty of habitability and that a landlord is prohibited by law from retaliating against a tenant in any manner for ...

What is the new rental law in Colorado? ›

A new law set to take effect immediately will require landlords to offer lease renewals unless they can provide a specific reason to refuse. It upends existing law that gives landlords freedom to decide whether or not to offer a lease renewal. Gov. Jared Polis signed a revised version of the bill Friday.

What a landlord Cannot do in Colorado? ›

In Colorado, landlords are prohibited from discriminating against prospective tenants, enforcing restrictive clauses in rental agreements that violate state laws, withholding security deposits without valid reason, entering a tenant's home without proper notice, and using self-help eviction tactics.

What is the late fee for rent in Colorado 2024? ›

Late Rent Fees: Landlords in Colorado are permitted to charge a late fee, but only if the rent is over seven days late. The maximum amount of the late fee is capped at the greater of $50 or 5% of the overdue rent. This regulation ensures that tenants are not excessively penalized for late payments.

What is the new eviction law in Colorado? ›

Not only does the new law require landlords and property owners to provide a tenant with a valid reason for filing for an eviction, but the law also prohibits landlords and property owners from refusing to renew a tenant's lease or use a lease holdover as grounds for eviction.

How often do landlords have to replace carpet in Colorado? ›

Plan to accept what items will not stand up to tenant charges when they move out, such as stained or worn-out carpets. Since carpet typically shows more wear than hardwood floor, it's important to know that carpet needs to be replaced every 7 years per The Department of Housing and Urban Development.

What is the maximum legal rent increase in Colorado? ›

In Colorado, landlords can raise rent by any reasonable amount they wish, as there is no legal cap on rent increases. However, there are regulations and guidelines that landlords must follow: Landlords can only increase rent once in a continuous 12-month period.

Can a landlord break a lease for any reason in Colorado? ›

A landlord can't force you to move out before the lease ends, unless you fail to pay the rent or otherwise violate a significant lease term, such as repeatedly throwing large and noisy parties. In these cases, landlords in Colorado must follow specific procedures to end the tenancy.

How long does a landlord have to give you to move out in Colorado? ›

A tenancy for one year or longer: 90 days' notice 2. A tenancy between 6-12 months: 28 days' notice 3. A tenancy between one and six months: 21 days' notice 4. A tenancy between one week and one month, or a tenancy at will: 3 days' notice.

Which of the following actions by a landlord would be illegal? ›

Some examples of illegal landlord actions include: changing locks without giving notice. entering a tenant's apartment without permission. refusing to make necessary repairs.

Can a landlord refuse to renew a lease in Colorado? ›

By: Sara Wilson - April 19, 2024 3:38 pm. Colorado landlords will now need a specific reason to evict or not offer a lease renewal to a tenant under a new law signed by Democratic Gov. Jared Polis on Friday.

What is the wear and tear law in Colorado? ›

Colorado statute defines normal wear and tear as “deterioration which occurs, based upon the use for which the rental unit is intended, without negligence, carelessness, accident, or abuse of the premises or equipment or chattels by the tenant or members of his household, or their invitees or guests.” Unfortunately, ...

How long can you go without paying rent in Colorado? ›

If the tenant doesn't pay in full the rent owed before the end of the 10 days, the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit (also called an "unlawful detainer" suit). Colorado landlords who have an exempt residential agreement can shorten the notice period by serving a five-day notice to pay rent or quit.

What is the maximum late rent fee in Colorado? ›

Colorado landlords are not allowed to charge any late fees over $50 or 5% of the amount of past due rent (whichever is greater).

Do you have to make 3 times the rent in Colorado? ›

Right now, landlords can require tenants to make at least three times what they charge for rent. “One of the biggest problems with renters in Colorado Springs is that they're paying the majority of their income for rent or for mortgage,” said Senator Tony Exum, who represents District 11 in El Paso County.

How much notice does a renter have to give in Colorado? ›

A tenancy for one year or longer: 90 days' notice 2. A tenancy between 6-12 months: 28 days' notice 3. A tenancy between one and six months: 21 days' notice 4. A tenancy between one week and one month, or a tenancy at will: 3 days' notice.

What is the new Colorado habitability law? ›

Colorado's warranty of habitability law requires that landlords maintain a minimum standard for healthy housing but the law is not working as intended, lawmakers and housing advocates said. The law fails to protect residents from extreme heat and other issues such as broken doors, windows and elevators, they said.

How many times a year can a landlord raise rent in Colorado? ›

In Colorado, landlords can raise rent by any reasonable amount they wish, as there is no legal cap on rent increases. However, there are regulations and guidelines that landlords must follow: Landlords can only increase rent once in a continuous 12-month period.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Kareem Mueller DO

Last Updated:

Views: 6268

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (46 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Kareem Mueller DO

Birthday: 1997-01-04

Address: Apt. 156 12935 Runolfsdottir Mission, Greenfort, MN 74384-6749

Phone: +16704982844747

Job: Corporate Administration Planner

Hobby: Mountain biking, Jewelry making, Stone skipping, Lacemaking, Knife making, Scrapbooking, Letterboxing

Introduction: My name is Kareem Mueller DO, I am a vivacious, super, thoughtful, excited, handsome, beautiful, combative person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.